• The Perks Of Being A Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky

    The Perks Of Being A Wallflower is my favourite book of all times. It really is. Just take a look at the wallpaper of my blog: that is a quotation from it.

    During this article, I'll try to explain you why that book became so important to me by the moment I read the first words. So I'll proceed making a list. Incidentally, I bet it's going to be sort of long (the plot summary plus the list, I mean).

    The Perks Of Being A Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky

    But before starting, I'd like to tell you about the plot, the concept. Indeed, it's sort of unusual: Charlie, the main character, is writing letters to you, reader, because he just feels alone, abandoned. You're helping him through a really hard time. Actually, his best friend committed suicide the year before the story begins. As he already was fragile since the loss of his aunt (who was his favourite person in the world), he's just totally depressed and afraid of going to highschool don't knowing anyone. And, like you can imagine, it's hard for him to make friends since he is really sensitive and introvert. 

    He'll write letters to you as often as he can, not to feel too alone. And, progressively, you'll see him grow up. When he meets Sam (with who he falls in love at first sight) and Patrick (her adorable gay step brother), he's introduced to a world he doesn't know. Effectively, he's never really spoken to anyone outside of his family since his friend died, and then, he'll go to parties, try drugs (first, don't knowing it) and have girlfriends. He's going to participate, as his teacher told him to, instead of just looking at things from the oustide. 

    During the whole book, he's going to be both happy and sad. He's going to try to discover who he really is, find he wants to be a writer. He'll try to figure out love and all it involves. And that progression is interesting because Charlie is such a touching guy. He's really innocent and pure. No matter what he writes, he genuinely feels it. Always kind with everyone, he never judges people before getting to know them. I promise, you cannot resist adoring him. Many times, I just wanted him to be next to me. I wanted to hug him tight. It can seem completely crazy to, like, feel so close to a book character but that's what happened to me. Because it was so beautifully written, because Charlie is lovely, because I love reading letters, or perhaps because I believed in his story.

    So, let's get it started with my list. Why am I litteraly fond of The Perks Of Being A Wallflower?

    The Perks Of Being A Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky

    1° Because, someway, Charlie looks like me. I'm also kind of awkward with people, a bit introvert. I love, as he does, reading and writing. I'm really close to him, and it touched me partly because I could recongnize myself in his character.

    2° Because that book is realistic. We are immerged in the universe of teenagers, with absolutely no preconceived ideas. That's a bit what we are living (or have lived), you know. 

    3° Because it made me cry. And that's not usual for me to cry while reading, I swear. I didn't only cry during the sad parts, but also during the happy ones. It meant so much to me and it was so ingenuously described. Charlie is kind of stuck in his own world, and he sees things and understands them in his own way. But it feels like he's always right. He always finds the pit of things. He's a wallflower.

    4° For the songs. Actually, that book made me know a lot of songs and books that I hadn't heard about. Like the song Asleep, by The Smiths. The author put a a lot of things he loves in his book. And, to be honest, that's a reason why you really shall read it.

    5° For all the sentences you can quote. This is the kind of books that's so true, and telling so much things you can applicate to your own life. "We accept the love we think we deserve" is one of my favourites.

    6° Because it tells about the kind of people everyone always ignores. There are lots of Charlies. Lots of Wallflowers, everywhere. And Chbosky chose to give them a chance to live, to be loved, throughout his book. 

    7° For having felt infinite (read it, and you'll understand).

     

     


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :